New studio album “Theories Of Flight” announced

//New studio album “Theories Of Flight” announced

New studio album “Theories Of Flight” announced

New studio album “Theories Of Flight” announced; Artwork unveiled!

U.S. Progressive Metal pioneers FATES WARNING have announced a worldwide release date of July 1st, 2016 for their much anticipated 12th studio album via InsideOutMusic.

FATES WARNING’s new album is entitled “Theories Of Flight” and comes packaged with unique artwork (which can be seen above!) created by Michigan artist Graceann Warn /

FATES WARNING guitarist and main composer Jim Matheos comments about the title and the artwork for the “Theories Of Flight” album as follows: The working title for the album was “The Ghosts Of Home”’ and the song with that name was first called “Home Again”. When I started searching for artwork I came across the piece that’s now the cover and it was called “Theories Of Flight”. In fact, the title you see on the cover is part of the original art, not something we added. There’s a loose theme running through a lot of the lyrics, and this developed organically and separately, where Ray and I are often writing about various uprooting, escapes….flights. So I was immediately drawn to that phrase as being a better description of what some of the songs are about.”

The tracklisting for “Theories Of Flight” reads as follows:

FATES WARNING – Theories Of Flight

1. From The Rooftops
2. Seven Stars
3. SOS
4. The Light And Shade Of Things
5. White Flag
6. Like Stars Our Eyes Have Seen
7. The Ghosts Of Home
8. Theories Of Flight

A limited 2CD version of the album (and also its 2LP) will include an acoustic bonus-disc with the following tracks:

Acoustic Bonustracks:
1. Firefly
2. Seven Stars
3. Another Perfect Day
4. Pray Your Gods (Toad The Wet Sprocket cover)
5. Adela (Joaquin Rodrigo)
6. Rain (Uriah Heep cover)

Performed by the core line-up that returned to form with 2013’s acclaimed “Darkness In A Different Light” release (Guitarist Jim Matheos, vocalist Ray Alder, bassist Joey Vera, and drummer Bobby Jarzombek), “Theories Of Flight” was produced by Jim Matheos and mixed/mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Symphony X, Haken, etc.).

More new on FATES WARNING and further details about the “Theories Of Flight” album will follow in the coming weeks…

In related live-news, FATES WARNING are about to perform two special 30th anniversary-shows for their classic “Awaken The Guardian” album.

These live-appearances in the original album line-up (featuring John Arch on vocals) will take place at the sold-out Keep It True festival in Germany on April 29-30th and at the sold-out ProgPower USA festival / on September 9-10th.

Ray Alder – Vocals
Jim Matheos – Guitars
Joey Vera – Bass
Bobby Jarzombek – Drums



By | 2016-12-02T14:01:12-07:00 April 25th, 2016|News|3 Comments


  1. Marcelino Morales May 11, 2016 at 8:13 pm - Reply

    Can’t wait for the new album.. I’ve been a fan since night on broken and always will be..I grow up with fates music…I luv all their albums. Fates warning rules\m/

  2. Hector Patino May 14, 2016 at 9:24 am - Reply

    A month and a half wait…ugh!! Can we hear a snippet? I want the double disc, too. I’m ready……..\m/

  3. Carlos hernandez May 15, 2016 at 4:49 pm - Reply

    I’ve been a big fan for years I can’t wait to hear the new album n can’t wait till they come back to San Antonio TX

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.